Settling in a rifle using Cast

• 3.9K Views
  • Last Post 19 November 2013
Thomassen posted this 17 November 2013

I'm new to shooting cast. I had a great first time out last week. I've read here and other places that folks take 1 or 2 fouling shots before their rifle settles in. Why is this? Anyone know the science behind it? I'm familiar with the concept when shooting muzzleloaders with BP. But why here?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
joeb33050 posted this 17 November 2013

It's what's called “The Knurlman Effect". The gun doesn't know what you're shooting in it for a few shots, and because it is confused, scatters the first few shots. As the gun gets used to the bullets and load it settles down and clusters the shots together. Discovered by Ivar Knurlman, love child of H. Pope and Lotte Linya.

Attached Files

grouch posted this 17 November 2013

I can't speak to the science, but one of my rifles very reliably throws the first shot of the day about 3” high. Some do, some don't. Grouch

Attached Files

muley posted this 17 November 2013

each rifle is different, as we are. some say a fouling shot is needed and some call it a shot to warm the barrel. my pistol takes one shot after cleaning or between strings to shoot for score. the first shot, cold, is @ 11'oclock outside edge of the 9 ring. some guns may need as much as 3-4 shots.

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 17 November 2013

in my years of shooting rimfire benchrest, ( which i always thought of as little cast bullets .. ) i don't think i ever saw a rifle that didn't require a few ” conditioning ? ” shots ... some as many as a dozen .. some only 2 or 3 ... i played with lubes, a lot with moly ...maybe some were better, but non beat the need for conditioning ..

also noted ... conditioning shots almost always go high ...hmmm ...

during a 25 shot match ...if you delay too long, your impact can start walking away ...dangit !

just some trivia ..

ken

Attached Files