Ideal 308291 Hollow Point Mold

• 4.8K Views
  • Last Post 18 February 2014
Jackpine posted this 06 February 2014

I am relatively new to bullet casting, having cast with no more than a couple thousand bullets total from eight or ten different molds.  I have learned a great deal by reading and learning on this forum but this is my first post. I recently acquired the mold listed and cannot find any specific info on it.  I assume the hollow point was added after the original making of the mold, but that is just my assumption.  I also assume that the depth of the hollow point is set by the relationship of the little extension on the hollow point plug to either the little stud in the mold or the screw head, but again, my assumption.  I would appreciate any advice, instruction and tips on use of this mold and educated opinions on its origin and/or customization. I have attempted to add picture of the mold and hope it comes thru. Thanks, Jackpine

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 07 February 2014

i am not much of a mold historian, but here is a few thoughts on operation.

i dont think any adjustment for depth is intended. the little stud is just captured under the screw head, least slack is good.

keep the hp pin taper very hot, it cools quickly to give wrinkles. no torch, it could warp.

i sold my hp molds; hollow pointer gadgets are available. oh, i do have a lee hollow point 357, i keep it for laughs. or maybe no one bid on it ?( g ) .

ken

Attached Files

gnoahhh posted this 07 February 2014