Lyman 25 furnace

• 2.3K Views
  • Last Post 18 May 2017
6pt-sika posted this 14 May 2016

Anyone purchased one of these Lyman 25 pound furnaces ? http://www.lymanproducts.com/lyman/bullet-casting/mag25furnace.php Would like to hear good bad or other on these !

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Dirtybore posted this 14 May 2016

Yes and I've been using it for well over 10 years. I purchased it when my Herters pot died for the 3rd time and couldn't be resurrected. The bottom pour spout has froze up with contaminants but I ladle pour anyway so to heck with it.  The only inconvenience is when I need to change alloy, then having to empty the pot can be a problem.   I only change alloy about ever 5 years so I just don't pay attention to it.  Just keep casting...

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 15 May 2016

Thanks for the info , but your pot and the one in the link above aren't the same . This thing I have the link for was brought out 2 years ago I believe . I suspect this is more along the lines of your pot . https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=lyman+20+pound+lead+pot&view=detailv2&qpvt=lyman+20+pound+lead+pot&id=ADB7B8F4E21434F96792C2D350016BC781D3F021&selectedIndex=25&ccid=WufO8Jpe&simid=608016058417217843&thid=OIP.M5ae7cef09a5e340b9f49e13cde7c940co0>

This newer one is a touch larger capacity with some extra bells and whistles . My main concern was being able to use the Lee 6 cavity molds and HP molds . This is the newer version with the additives !

Attached Files

norm posted this 15 May 2016

6pt, On the Lyman Mag 25 there is 3 inches clearance between the pour spout and the base. The aluminum mold guide is 1 3/8 inch wide.

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 16 May 2016

norm wrote: 6pt, On the Lyman Mag 25 there is 3 inches clearance between the pour spout and the base. The aluminum mold guide is 1 3/8 inch wide.