To quench or not to quench

• 9.4K Views
  • Last Post 25 May 2015
sept171787 posted this 14 September 2009

So I am new to casting and I have a few basic questions. I am casting for a .58 1861 springfield with rifling.

1. I have seen that keeping the lead between 550-600 degrees. The issue is that the lead still sticks to my spoon and lattle. What is the proper temp for the lead?

2. Should I let the laddle site in the lead in between poors?

3. Should I Quench or should I let the round air cool. I have noticed micro cracking after I quench the rounds.

4. What is the best way to heat the the mould.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
billwnr posted this 14 September 2009

Your mould needs a higher heat. I don't know if you are really getting cracking in your bullets or if you are seeing creases caused from the lead (and mould) not being hot enough.

What alloy are you using for your bullets?

Attached Files

I am using pure lead. What temp should my mould be at and after a couple of pours should my mould be at the right temp. I moulded 75 rounds and I did not turn my rifle into a shot gun.

Attached Files

LWesthoff posted this 14 September 2009

There are several “correct” answers to your questions, which is just another way of saying there are more than one ways to successfully cast bullets. I've been casting for more years than I like to think about; first as a bullseye pistol competitor and later for rifle. Here's the way I do it.

Proper casting temperature is dependent on the alloy you are casting. If you have a Lyman lead thermometer it will show you the proper ranges for the more popular bullet alloys right on the dial. Best indicator is well filled out bullets.

Leave the ladle sitting in the molten alloy when you are not actually pouring with it.