New Mould!

• 7.7K Views
  • Last Post 07 June 2011
Michael Petrov posted this 03 June 2011

I have been shooting a 33 1 6/10” WP on a Ballard for a few years.  For the last couple years I've been using my .33-Pope mould and wanted to get a modern one to use so I don't ware out the Pope.

The first mould I ordered was a disaster. Last winter I heard that David Mos was back making moulds so I gave him a try.  I sent him some of the Pope bullets and got a mould from him. It seemed to cast good bullets once it was up to temperature but just takes a long time. Plus it weights three times what my Pope mould does. Why are modern moulds so big?

Off my soapbox and back to shooting. It was cool and light rain this AM perfect shooting weather, I like to shoot when the conditions are like that and I have the range to myself ;-).

First shot was a little low changed the scope and fired five from the fouler box which are .2 grain different than the keepers.

5-.830"

Next was the good bullets 5-.458"

Another five shots in .615", rain was picking up so I fired a ten shot @ .815".  

Looks like it will work my first mix and first lube with this mould so I'm happy for now, with work I should be able to improve it a lot.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes

Attached Files

pat i. posted this 03 June 2011

Beautiful rifle and excellent groups. Dave Mos makes some fantastic moulds and if what he told me is true the first ones he cut for gas checked bullets were the three he cut for me. They were 235, 250 and 260 grain 30 cal. tapered bullets. Every one was exactly like the prints I sent him and the 250 grain bullet that I was using in a 30 PPC case at that time set a 10 shot 200 yd CBA Heavy Rifle record that lasted about a month, but it still did even if it was short lived. If he's still cutting moulds I'd recommend him and his moulds to anyone. Hell of a nice guy too.

Attached Files

6pt-sika posted this 03 June 2011

I'm not sure what I like better !