Using smokeless and cast bullets in the 45-70 ??

• 6.6K Views
  • Last Post 06 June 2012
2frogs posted this 07 April 2012

Courious as to if anyone here is using smokeless powder and to what bullet you may be using in the 45-70?

I have been shooting black powder for several years and just thought I would like to give the smokeless a try..

Not sure what powder to use. My bullets range from 400 to 535 grains...Not looking to push them too fast,just wanting to see what accuracy I might be able to get...

Also none of them are gas checked..Just plain based...20 to 1 and some 30 to 1 don't want to lead the barrel if I can help it...So if you have a favorite load and want to share your finding,I will appreciate......:dude:

Or maybe I should be using a much lighter bullet..I will only be competeing out to 250 yards with this rifle..I have very little experince with the lighter bullets so how about some ides here...That you gentlemen:cba:

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
TonyT posted this 06 June 2012

Oiur local clubs matches are at 50 yards and I use a powder puff load - 11.6 gr. UNIQUE, RLRP behind a 405 gr. cast lead bullet for ca 1100 fps. It's a nice mild load, easy on the shoulder.

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • rjmelehan
onondaga posted this 10 April 2012

Buzzard Bill:

The plain base aluminum gas checks for my .458  Win Mag cast bullets are from:   http://sagesoutdoors.com/index.htm>http://sagesoutdoors.com/index.htm

They were experimental at the time he sent me some to test for him. These checks are made with .008” aluminum and , I believe, also fit 50 cal gas check design bullets like the .500 S&W mag..

They are large over the base of the Lee 340 gr bullet and I install them with a Lee push through bullet size/check die BASE FIRST and push the flatnose with the die ram. They will not go nose first through the die I used.