"BEST" new Factory .308 Rifle for CBA Competition ?

• 1.2K Views
  • Last Post 20 April 2020
  • Topic Is Solved
gold40 posted this 31 March 2019

If one were purchasing a new .308 bolt action (factory) for CBA competition, what brands/models have worked particularly well?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Tom Acheson posted this 31 March 2019

“Best” being subjective, I’ve been using a Savage Low Profile Varminter since 2007. Bullet is a LBT 160-180 grain with N-133, N-135 or Varget with a Weaver T-36 scope. It is now for sale as I’m working up a new PBB rifle and don’t plan to shoot in Production category any more. This rifle holds a few MN State CBA Records.

Would be interesting to see a factory chambering of 7.62 x 39 in a similar Savage. 

Tom

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • M3 Mitch
Bud Hyett posted this 01 April 2019

The Production classification is dominated by Savage and Remington. That is not to say the other manufacturers are not suitable. These two manufacturers are the most commonly available.

There are actually two "Production" classes, Production and Hunter. Both offer the same challenges, the choice of rifle is more the choice of a good chamber and even rifling. Your choice of rifle should be to stay within the weight limits of the chosen class.

The choice of scope is also important. Adjustable objective and quarter-minute adjustment are essential.

Good luck and welcome to the world of cast bullet competition.

Farm boy from Illinois, living in the magical Pacific Northwest

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • M3 Mitch
  • RicinYakima
RicinYakima posted this 01 April 2019

Second what Bud says; it depends upon the chamber and rifling.

Attached Files

Scearcy posted this 01 April 2019

I can personally attest that Tom's rifle is a good one.

I have shot several Production and Hunter class rifles. Once I bought a bore scope, I discovered that what Bud says is true.